Windermere - Diessen Twinning Association

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 28th April 2016 in the Marchesi Centre Windermere – 7.00pm – 9.00pm

The Chairman, Jenny Borer, welcomed 12 members and friends.

Apologies for absence:

Lee Haywood, Bill Haywood, Leith Hallatsch, Annette Pearson, Mike Rigg, Adrian Faulkner, Liz Clegg, Liz Blaney

2. Minutes of the AGM on 20th March 2015:

The Minutes were read, proposed, seconded and agreed as a true record.

3. Matters arising from the minutes:

No matters arising not covered by Agenda items.

4. Chairman's Report:

The Chairman's report was circulated and it was noted and agreed that together with the newsletters sent to all Members throughout the year this provided a full record of the various activities—undertaken both here and in Diessen. The support given by the Town Mayor, Leith Hallatsch and his wife for our Twinning activities has been much appreciated.

5. Treasurer's Report:

The Treasurer, Joan Jones, went through the accounts verbally for the year ending 31st December 2015, which included income of £1590 from Memberships and our own fund raising events such as Coffee Mornings, our Garden Party and the Advent Tea, together with the grant of £500.00 from Windermere Town Council which had been gratefully acknowledged. This income about balanced the costs of entertaining visitors, including the students from the Carl Orff School, and supporting the exchange visit of Lakes School Students to Diessen. The balance in hand at 31st December 2015, was £2662.98, with cash in hand of £69.81. The year- end accounts were approved and Joan was thanked for keeping the accounts in good order.

6. Memberships/Subscriptions

Memberships now stand at 27 Members plus 2 Corporate Members. The membership subscription is to remain at £10.00 per person to cover costs of administration and necessary Public Liability Insurance for when we organise events.

7. Election of Officers:

There being no other nominations, Jenny Borer agreed to continue as Chairman, together with Joan Jones as Treasurer.

8. Election of Committee Members:

Existing committee members, Peter Bayliss, Tony and Liz Blaney, Annette Pearson, Hazel Macfarlane-Wenzel, Rosemary Park agreed to continue.

During the year Adrian Faulkner had offered to take on the role of Minutes Secretary, and although he was not able to attend the meeting, it was confirmed that he is gratefully accepted in joining the Committee in this role.

9. Future events and visits:

School exchange visits continue with the Carl Orff School group arriving in April 2016 when we will be helping with the evening get-together for refreshments and activities with the Lakes School students who will be going on the return visit to Diessen in July. Several members of the Blasergruppe will be coming in May and will be playing at various venues with their Alphorns, and in particular will join the children of St Cuthbert's school, who have been learning to play Glockenspiels for a morning Assembly.

7. Correspondence:

No correspondence to note.

8. Any other business:

Date of next Committee Meeting to be arranged.

The meeting was closed at 7.40pm when refreshments were served followed by an interesting video, provided and translated by Rosemary, showing aspects of the flora and fauna around the Ammersee together with management and conservation issues with a close similarity to those around Windermere.